Family Court

There are 58 Family Courts throughout New Zealand. The Family Court deals with applications under the following Acts:

  • Adoption Act 1955;
  • Adoption (Intercountry) Act 1997;
  • Alcoholism and Drug Addiction Act 1966;
  • Care of Children Act 2004;
  • Children Young Persons and Their Families Act 1989;
  • Child Support Act 1991;
  • Domestic Violence Act 1995;
  • Family Proceedings Act 1980;
  • Family Protection Act 1955;
  • Intellectual Disability (Compulsory Care and Rehabilitation) Act 2003;
  • Law Reform (Testamentary Promises) Act 1949;
  • Marriage Act 1955;
  • Mental Health (Compulsory) Assessment and Treatment Act 1992;
  • Property (Relationships) Act 1976; and the
  • Protection of Personal and Property Rights Act 1988.

Note that the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction is implemented in New Zealand by the Care of Children Act 2004.

Family Court issues often involve a complex array of family dynamics and factual situations. Every effort is made to encourage parties involved in a relationship breakdown to obtain counselling, and to engage in effective dispute mediation rather than proceeding down the costly (both monetarily and emotionally) path of litigation in the Family Court.

However, there will always be occasions when your involvement with the court system cannot be avoided. If you are facing such a situation, Rennie Cox will be there to guide you every step of the way.

Talk to Rennie Cox now to clarify your family law legal rights and obligations.